Liberty Hill voters remain strongly predictable, overwhelmingly Republican



Very predictable might be the best description of Election Day in Liberty Hill.

After a highly spirited Republican Primary season, Election Day in Liberty Hill found voters basically rubber stamping state and county outcomes. Gone were the political red hot races of the U.S. Senate and District Attorney. Local voters seemed to find very few choices and even less controversy at the ballot box as they followed regional trends for a generation by voting overwhelmingly for Republican candidates up and down the ballot.

While Republican Presidential Nominee Mitt Romney carried the state and Williamson County, the only newsworthy percentage is that Liberty Hill voted even more Republican than Williamson County and the rest of Texas.

In complete but unofficial returns, 3,223 Liberty Hill area voters chose Romney and 917 chose President Barack Obama, who won both the national popular vote as well as the Electoral College vote.

 Precinct 206

 Republican Senate candidate and Tea Party favorite Ted Cruz easily defeated Democrat Paul Sadler by a vote of 70 percent to 24 percent.

U.S. Congressman John Carter, R-Georgetown, also handily defeated his opponents by garnering 74 percent of the vote to 21 percent for Democrat Stephen Wyman and 5 percent for Libertarian Ethan Garofolo.

Republican Tom Maynard easily won a seat on the State Board of Education with 74 percent of the vote, compared to 26 percent for Democrat Judy Jennings.

New State Senator Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown, polled the highest victory of the evening with 82 percent of the vote. His Libertarian opponent Jeffrey Fox earned 18 percent of the vote.

Jana Duty defeated Democrat Ken Crain for the office of District Attorney by a margin of 76 percent to 24 percent.

Williamson County Sheriff James Wilson carried 79 percent of the vote to Libertarian Mike Andras’ 21 percent.

Pct. 2 Constable Richard Coffman was re-elected with 79 percent of the vote over Libertarian challenger  John Jackson.

Precinct 206 is home to voters on the North side of State Highway 29.

 Precinct 207

  Voters from the South side of Highway 29, which includes the majority of citizens living inside the city limits of Liberty Hill, voted with an even higher Republican trend than their neighbors from the North side.

Ted Cruz defeated Democrat Paul Sadler in the U.S. Senate race with a 2 point larger margin of 72 percent when compared with Precinct 206.

Congressman Carter’s vote totals also increased to a 76 percent victory. State School Board Member Tom Maynard’s percentages inched up a notch to a 75 percent victory as did Senator-elect Charles Schwertner who won with 83 percent of the vote.

Williamson County Sheriff James Wilson and Pct. 2 Constable Richard Coffman both won with 81 percent of the vote tally.

Republican State Representative-elect Marsha Farney was unopposed. Farney will replace State Rep. Schwertner who won election to the State Senate.

Various statewide and district judicial races were also decided. Results from Williamson County races can be found at

Chisholm Trail SUD

  The seemingly mundane election for directors of the local Chisholm Trail Special Utility District was about the only close race considered by the Liberty Hill community

The directors givern the water supply and related utility issues for area residents and water customers.

In Precinct 206, Patty Rodgers and Mike Sweeney tied with six votes each or 31.58 percent of the vote int hecampaign for two positions on the Board.

However, in Precinct 207, Sweeney received 785 votes or 35 percent while Ms. Rodgers received 388 votes for 17 percent. In the end, both of these candidates were the two top vote getters.

There was a large amount of ballot fatigue or under voting when it came to races at the end of the ballot for these non-federal, state or local government positions. In fact, those who did not vote in this race were in the majority. Those who did not vote on these candidates insured that the election was decided by a small number of voters.