Liberty Hill City officials take oath


Newly-elected members of the Liberty Hill City Council took the Oath of Office Monday. From left are Wendell McLeod, Jamie Williamson, Vicki Brewer and Sammy Pruett. Council members Byron Tippie (seated) and Mike Crane (standing in back) look on. (Photo by Kathy Canady)

The City of Liberty Hill’s new Mayor and three City Council members were officially sworn into office Monday.

After receiving their Certificates of Elections, the four new officials took the Oath of Office.

Jamie Williamson was elected Mayor May 12, earning 68 percent of the vote over Jack Harkrider. Mrs. Williamson received 112 votes to Harkrider’s 52.

Williamson replaced Michele “Mike” Murphy, who received nine votes in an attempt to run for the Place 2 seat.

Others sworn in Monday evening included Vicki Brewer in Place 2 who received 74 percent or 120 votes; Wendell McLeod in Place 4, who took 62 percent or 100 votes; and Sammy Pruett in Place 5, who received 47 percent or 74 votes.

The City Council still includes Place 1 Councilman Mike Crane and Place 3’s Byron Tippie.

No further business was conducted Monday. The Council’s next regular meeting is at 6:30 p.m. Monday, May 28.